Cycling celluloid and local customs.

As the clouds gather overhead and the first signs of a rainy afternoon build up outside, I’m happy to announce that this little blog has gotten it’s first external link! Wow, out of the three readers out there, somehow Biking In LA blog managed to get hold of my post about my daily commute. Strangely, the link is attached to a story about some poor cyclist who was killed by an underage drunk driver. I thought my posts were generally fairly lighthearted, but now I see that there is a grave undercurrent of seriousness in all that I write.

As a serious journalist, from there I began to look at local cycling industry bodies, and amongst many other serious websites, I found this educational and entertaining film. Seeing as we are in the middle of the Melbourne International Film Festival, I thought I would review this little gem for you, the discerning Bike Lanes reader.

If you have ever wondered if it is quicker to commute by bicycle than by car, then this is the film you have been waiting for. This action packed short film takes the viewer through a series of events in the daily life of a cycle commuter and a motorist. David Thomas’ mini-epic doesn’t rely upon high production values or flashy special effects to carry the story. This piece of Cinema Verité is driven by the realistic scenarios and down to earth performances by the leads. Overall, a highly recommended for any aspiring cycling commuter. 3/5.

Sorry, I couldn't get the embed video working....

Sorry, I couldn't get the embed video working....

In related news, MIFF have set up their own town bike!
It’s armed with a small projector, so look out for guerilla screenings around the city!

bike2

Continuing my journalistic journey into local cycling culture, I discovered a Flickr pool by the name of Bike Fun Melbourne which consists mostly of photos of people standing around with lights on their heads, people fiddling away at work benches, some bike polo, and some innovative bike builds.

small-tall-bikesmall-tall-bike2

As you can see from the images, the Tall Bike phenomena has been reinvented with a Small-Tall Bike. This style of cycling will undoubtably become widely embraced, as it not only applies techniques of extreme bicycle manipulation, it removes the stigma of Tall Bike riding by having the rider at an almost usual height, also making 3 foot drivetrains un-needed. I live for the day when Small-Tall Bikes are everywhere, not requiring events like Critical Mass in order to pull them out of the shed. On other parts of the internet, I came across this astounding music video on another cycling blog but felt I had to repost it here, because scarily enough, these crusty demons are being filmed in my neighbourhood. I feel very blessed that I didn’t go out to buy some groceries on the fateful day when the Brunswick Free Ride was taking place on Sydney road, as I’m not sure I would have been able to handle the overwhelming smell of patchouli. If you haven’t seen this clip yet, then do yourself a favour and feast your eyes on this!

Until next time, keep on trucking, er, cycling.

0 Responses to “Cycling celluloid and local customs.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

