Private school, public bike.

Being Friday, and feeling a little on the sleepy side, I decided to take a stroll down the road and see what I could see. The first cycling site I sighted was a ghost rider, well, a ghost bike rider. A young chap riding an all white fixie, brakeless and helmetless, it seemed like he was aiming for the ghost bike style to carry him across the divide between life and death. Seconds later in the peloton came a fully decked out semi-pro riding some obscenely expensive road bike who zipped past the ghost fixie rider with disdain. Unfortunately this happened all too quickly for me to snap any pictures of them, which is a shame as I went out to see if I could get any good bike-related photos. But before I was able to abandon all hope, I spotted a couple spotty private school kids, one of them locking up what looked to be a good old fixie conversion.
private-school-SS
As you can see from this revealing image, the young man is rocking the bike-messenger style, as well as he can in his exclusive school uniform. Crumpler bags go with anything though. As these two lads went off to do whatever private school boys do on a Friday afternoon, I sneakily creeped over the road to have a closer look at the machine. Disappointingly, the bike was only some crappy old steel frame conversion, yet another example of a bike with a single component being of considerably higher value than the rest of the bike combined. of course I am speaking of the electric blue Velocity Deep V on the rear. The frame was shoddily painted black, but the also shoddily applied bar tape beautifully matched the electric blue Deep V. I was a little disappointed he hadn’t carried out his blinged out colourway any further, the chain and the saddle could have helped to take this bike to the next level.
private-school-SS_2
When you start adding expensive components to crappy bikes, it makes the bike look even crappier. I guess he is just a kid, but surely private school boys can just ask their parents for a fancy track bike, or at least a shop bought one. I suppose it is actually a good thing that he has converted an old steel frame instead of buying one off the rack at where the hell ever you buy these bikes. I should also draw attention to the fashionable brake lever mounting style that adorned this beast. It was a good old fashioned right side mounted left brake lever, designed to be just that little bit awkward to use. This seemed a little silly, seeing as he was riding a flip flop hub which was flip flopped to the free wheel side. I am always amazed at non-fixed gear cyclists who only use the front brake. I completely understand that the majority of braking power is in the front brake, and I use my front brake 90% of the time, but it is those occasions when something unforeseen happens that I tend to use BOTH brakes in order to stop quickly without flying over the handlebars. Anyway, I don’t mean to be a grumpy old man, and all the best to everyone out there riding whatever configurations that work for you. As I said at the start of the post, I’m sleepy.

Until next time, ride safe.

0 Responses to “Private school, public bike.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

